FIU’s Vice Provost Awards $116,000 in Scholarships

FIU- Vice Provost CouncilThe Vice Provost’s Office at the Biscayne Bay Campus of Florida International University, in partnership with the Vice Provost’s Council, awarded $30,000 in merit scholarships to seventeen students chosen from a field of over 100 applicants. The program, held on October 8th, was punctuated by Sandy Lansing, Chair, who proclaimed, “We intend to at least double the amount of scholarships to be awarded in 2015.”

On November 13th, the First Annual Golden Gift First Generation Scholarships totaling $86,000, were awarded to sixteen deserving students who are the first generation in their families to attend college and who live in a five-mile radius of the Biscayne Bay Campus. The State of Florida matched each scholarship given by individual donors. The Hon. Billy Joel, creator of this scholarship program said, “Our commitment is to help our community scholars graduate on time, starting their careers without loan debt. Next year we will have 24 Golden Gift Scholars.”

Those who received the awards were honored at a special reception and ceremony surrounded by friends, family and members of the Vice Provost’s Council. This was a first-time opportunity for the students to meet the members of the Vice Provost’s Council. Both events were inspiring evenings to hear from students, parents and members of the Council.

The Vice Provost’s Council currently has 32 members from Aventura, Bal Harbour Village, Miami, North Miami, North Miami Beach, Bay Harbor Islands, and Sunny Isles Beach. “These are people who take an interest in our students and provide mentoring, outreach, and scholarships on their behalf,” said Vice Provost Steve Moll.

The Council is led by an executive committee of eleven members, Chaired by Sandra Lansing and Co-Chair Hon. Billy Joel. Members of the Council include Hon. Lewis Thaler, Hon. Jean Rosenfield, Richard Kronrad, Regine Monestime, Esq., Hans Ottinot, Esq., Melvin Chasen, Dr. Jules Oaklander, Jerry Cohen, Hon. Norman S. Edelcup, Judge Marcia Cooke, Jonathan Evans, Stuart Geller, Geller Design Group, Hon. Marc Narotsky, Hon. Bob Shelley, Darcee Siegel, Dr. Deborah Holmes, Alexander Lewy, Dr. George M. Lipton, Hon. Howard Weinberg, Mayor Robert Yaffe, Jerilynn Gidney, Betty G. Reader Foundation; Stanford Lotwin, Esq., Sandy Sears; Capt. Herman Lustig; David Savir, JPMorgan; Jordan Laser, Northwestern Mutual, Michael Vera, Esq., Cristina Allan, and Judge Betty Capote. Honorary Members are Dr. Gregory B.Wolfe, Sen. Gwen Margolis, and Principal Wallace Aristide.

For more information, contact Jan L. Solomon at 305-919-4008.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "FIU’s Vice Provost Awards $116,000 in Scholarships"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.