12 women leaders in Miami honored for achievements

12 women leaders in Miami honored for achievements

Pictured are (l-r, front row) Local 10 Meteorologist Betty Davis, Wendy Kallergis, Linda Robinson, Valerie Riles, Dr. Judy Brown, Dr. Nilda Peragallo Montano; (back row) Angela Smith, Judge Migna Sanchez- Llorens, Jacqueline Menendez, Marcia Fernandez-Morin, Debbie Frost for Thelma Hardison, Alyce Robertson and Marie-Elsie Dowell.

Twelve women leaders were honored for their achievements in their respective fields during the 26th annual In the Company of Women Awards Ceremony, presented by Macy’s.

The evening began with a networking reception with drinks and hors d’oeuvres, followed by an awards ceremony emceed by WPLG Channel 10 Meteorologist Betty Davis at the Coral Gables Country Club. Videos showcasing each winner’s career, inspiration and connection to parks and open spaces were played right before each lady was presented her award.

In the Company of Women, hosted by the Miami-Dade County Commission for Women, Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade, and Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces Department, takes place each year in March during Women’s History Month and provides support to parks and parks programming throughout Miami-Dade, including the Women’s Park and the Girls Empowerment and Mentoring (GEM) Program.

It is made possible with the support of generous sponsors including: Macy’s; AARP; Miami Marlins; Parsons Brinkerhoff Inc.; Totalbank; University of Miami; AT&T; Trish and Dan Bell, co-chairs of the Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science; Enterprise Holdings; Miami Downtown Development Authority; Miami-Dade Aviation Department, Miami-Dade County Commission Chair Rebeca Sosa; Miami- Dade District 2 Commissioner Barbara J. Jordan; Miami Dade District 4 Commissioner Sally A. Heyman; Miami-Dade County Commission Vice Chair Lynda Bell; United Way of Miami-Dade; Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami-Dade County; League of Women Voters of Miami- Dade County, and CH Creations.

Nomination applications for the 2015 In the Company of Women Award Ceremony will be available in October at www.miamidade.gov/parks.
2014 Winners:
Mayor’s Pioneer Award — Linda Robinson, Former Vice Mayor, City of Palmetto Bay;
Arts and Entertainment — Valerie Riles, vice president of Board and Government Relations, Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami- Dade County;
Business and Economics — Wendy Kallergis, president/CEO, Greater Miami and the Beaches Hotel Association; Communications and Literature — Jacqueline Menendez, vice president of University Communications, University of Miami;
Education and Research — Judy Brown, PhD, senior vice president of Education, Miami Science Museum;
Government and Law (Elected) — Honorable Migna Sanchez-Llorens, Circuit Court Judge;
Government and Law (Non-Elected) — Alyce Robertson, executive director, Miami Downtown Development Authority;
Health and Human Services — Nilda Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN, Dean, University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Services;
Science and Technology — Marie-Elsie Dowell, PE, PTOE, vice president of Traffic Engineering and Operations, Parsons Brinckerhoff Inc.;
Sports and Athletics — Angela Smith, director of Community Outreach, Miami Marlins;
Posthumous Award — Thelma Hardison, Constable, Third District of Florida, and
Community Spirit — Marcia Fernández-Morin, Miami Dade Aviation Department.

For information about Miami-Dade County Parks call 3-1-1, or visit www.miamidade.gov/parks/.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "12 women leaders in Miami honored for achievements"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.