United Way of Miami-Dade announces its 2015 – 2016 board and executive committee


At its June 30 Annual Meeting, United Way of Miami-Dade elected new officers and directors to serve on its board for 2015-2016. United Way’s board is comprised of corporate and community leaders whose strategic decision-making and guidance furthers the organization’s mission of building community by helping people care for one another and ensures the highest levels of governance and stewardship.

Serving as members of the executive committee are:

  • Board Chair – Miguel G. Farra, chairman, tax & accounting, Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra
  • Immediate Past Board Chair – Gene Schaefer, Miami market president, Bank of America
  • Treasurer – Jorge R. Villacampa, area president, Wells Fargo
  • Secretary – Gerald C. Grant, Jr., director, financial planning, AXA Equitable
  • 2015 Campaign Co-Chairs – Edward J. Joyce, president, South Florida region, The Northern Trust Company; and Romaine M. Seguin, president, Americas region, UPS
  • Chair, Finance & Administration – Frank Gonzalez, principal-in-charge, audit department, Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra
  • Chair, Community Investments – Elizabeth Leight, Psy.D, community volunteer
  • Chair, Public Policy – Phillis I. Oeters, corporate vice president, government relations, Baptist Health South Florida
  • Chair, Engagement – Yolanda C. Berkowitz, community volunteer
  • Chair, Endowment – Stephen G. Danner, senior managing partner, CBIZ MHM
  • Chair, Marketing – Julio A. Ramirez, part owner, JEM Global Consulting
  • Members at-large – Maria C. Alonso, SVP, Miami market manager, corporate social responsibility, Bank of America Merrill Lynch; Peter L. Bermont, managing director, The Bermont Advisory Group;Peter T. Pruitt, Jr., managing partner, Florida and Puerto Rico, Deloitte; Penelope S. Shaffer, Ph.D., South Florida market president, Florida Blue; Alexandra Villoch, president and publisher, Miami Herald Media Company

Continuing to serve in the capacity of general counsel is Jorge Hernandez-Toraño, partner, Holland & Knight.

Joining the executive committee as members of the board are:

  • Jayne Harris Abess, partner, thinkLAB Ventures
  • Andrew L. Ansin, vice president, WSVN-TV Channel 7
  • David A. Barkus, shareholder, corporate & securities, Greenberg Traurig
  • Steven J. Brodie, partner, Carlton Fields
  • Michele P. Burger, vice president, Bugs Burger Bug Killers, Inc.
  • Juan N. Cento, president, FedEx Latin America & Caribbean
  • Juan del Busto, chairman of the board, CEO, Del Busto Capital Partners
  • Marilyn J. DeVoe, vice president, Miami Hub, American Airlines
  • Peter J. Dolara, president, Air Travel Management
  • Constance M. Fernandez, community volunteer
  • Rodolfo Fernandez, vice president, government and community relations, chief of staff, University of Miami
  • Annelies Da Costa Gomez, community volunteer
  • Jorge J. Gonzalez, partner, Holland & Knight
  • Fedrick C. Ingram, president, United Teachers of Dade Local 1974
  • Alicia Cervera Lamadrid, managing partner, Cervera Real Estate 
  • Jess S. Lawhorn, Jr., SVP, commercial real estate, Sun Trust Banks
  • Jason T. Liberty, CFO , Royal Caribbean
  • Agostinho Alfonso Macedo, president, CEO, Ocean Bank
  • Jose R. Mas, CEO, MasTec
  • Lisa M. Mendelson, community volunteer
  • Carlos A. Migoya, president and CEO, Jackson Health System
  • Rudolph G. Moise, D.O., president and CEO, Comprehensive Health Center
  • W. Allen Morris, chairman and CEO, The Allen Morris Company
  • Susan Potter Norton, partner, Allen Norton & Blue
  • William H. O’Dowd IV, president and CEO, Dolphin Digital Media
  • Cristina Pereyra, mediator/arbitrator, JAMS Miami
  • Fernando Ruiz, SVP, Miami market manager, JP Morgan Chase
  • Robert E. Sanchez, CEO, Ryder System
  • Vincent M. Signorello, president and CEO, Florida East Coast Industries
  • Oscar Suarez, Florida market leader, Ernst & Young
  • John C. Sumberg, managing partner, Bilzin Sumberg
  • Marielena A. Villamil, president and COO, The Washington Economics Group
  • Judy H. Zeder, realtor, Esslinger-Wooten-Maxwell Realtors
  • Josh M. Zivalich, secretary/treasurer, Teamsters Local 769, AFL-CIO
  • Octavio “Joe” Zubizarreta, COO, Zubi Advertising Services

Ex-officio members of the board are:

  • Colley Billie, chairman, Miccosukee Tribe of Indians
  • Maria Mas Blet, managing principal and CEO, GSK Wealth Advisors, and chair of United Way Worldwide’s Women’s Leadership Council
  • Gabriela Cantero, student representative, Miami-Dade County Public Schools
  • Alberto Carvalho, superintendent, Miami-Dade County Public Schools
  • The Honorable Carlos A. Gimenez, Mayor, Miami-Dade County
  • Silvia M. Larrieu, corporate director, wellness strategies, Baptist Health South Florida, and past co-chair of United Way of Miami-Dade’s Young Leaders


About United Way of Miami-Dade

Since 1924, United Way of Miami-Dade has been an innovative force in the community, successfully responding to emerging needs and transforming people’s lives. Today our work is focused on education, financial stability and health—the building blocks for a good life.  We invest in quality programs, advocate for better policies, engage people in the community and generate resources.  To learn more, give, advocate or volunteer, visit www.unitedwaymiami.org,www.facebook.com/UnitedWayMiami, www.twitter.com/UnitedWayMiami, or www.instagram/UnitedWayMiami.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "United Way of Miami-Dade announces its 2015 – 2016 board and executive committee"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.