Junior Orange Bowl installs 2014-15 board of directors

Junior Orange Bowl installs 2014-15 board of directors

Pictured (l-r) are 2014-15 Junior Orange Bowl Board of Directors members: Dr. Robert Bueso, Michelle Bermudez, Isa Goenaga, Kathleen Kauffman, Pete Tolmach, Charles Knight, Barbara Waters, Sam Burritt and Maggie Hill. (Not pictured are Samantha Jones and Adhys Obeso,)

The Junior Orange Bowl conducted its annual Awards Reception and Board of Directors Installation on Tuesday, Mar. 18, at the Westin Colonnade in Coral Gables.

Pete Tolmach was sworn in as the Junior Orange Bowl’s 44th president. The reception honored and celebrated the 65th annual Junior Orange Bowl Festival. More than 12 athletic and academic events, highlighted by the 65th Junior Orange Bowl Parade, made up this year’s festival season.

The 2014-15 board of directors includes: immediate past president, Robert Bueso, PhD; president-elect, Kathleen Kauffman; vice presidents, Charles Knight and Samantha Jones; secretary, Sam Burritt; treasurer, Adhys Obeso, and directors Isa Goenaga, Michelle Bermudez, Barbara Waters and Maggie Hill. The new board of directors and president were sworn inby former Coral Gables Mayor Dorothy Thomson.

Board member Isa Goenaga received the James Charlton Outstanding Service Award for the 2013-14 festival season. Goenaga was recognized for her outstanding dedication and commitment as she served as the chair of the Royal Court Committee for the third year.

Col. Jack Thomson, former Junior Orange Bowl president, was presented with the Junior Orange Bowl Presidents Award. The award is given to a past president who has continued to devote his or her time and effort and contributes to the success and growth of the Junior Orange Bowl.

The Junior Orange Bowl also recognized its community sponsors and partners. Miami Children’s Hospital was honored as the Official Health Care Provider of the Junior Orange Bowl for the 16th year. The continued partnership with the Orange Bowl Committee also was recognized as was Miami-Dade County and the City of Coral Gables for their continued support of the Junior Orange Bowl.

New members were sworn by Coral Gables City Commissioner Pat Keon. The new members of the Junior Orange Bowl are RJ Hessling, Cathy Nordlund, William Plasencia, Randy DeWitt, Estrellita Sibila, and Mary Snow. Existing members who were moved up in membership include Anthony Atwood, Michelle Bermudez, Felipe Calderon, Norma Gavarrete, Justin Harmon, and Adhys Obeso.

The Junior Orange Bowl will celebrate its 66th festival season in 2014-15. If you want to volunteer for an event or become a member of the Junior Orange Bowl visit www.JrOrangeBowl.org or call 305- 662-1210.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Junior Orange Bowl installs 2014-15 board of directors"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.