MDC’s Rosany Alvarez named Florida Professor of the Year

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) have chosen Miami Dade College (MDC) Professor Rosany Alvarez as the 2014 Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching Florida Professor of the Year. She was selected from nearly 400 top professors nominated throughout the country.

Dr. Alvarez is a two-time MDC Endowed Teaching Chair recipient. She has taught mathematics at the InterAmerican Campus (IAC) for 24 years and is involved in the Dual Language Honors Program. In addition, she is a faculty advisor for the Salzburg Global Seminar, traveling to Salzburg, Austria, with 50 Honors College and Student Government Association students. She originated the Peer Tutoring Program at IAC that provides students with opportunities to meet professionals in the field to learn about career options.

“Dr. Alvarez is among the most dedicated faculty members at the college,” said MDC president Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón. “Her commitment to our students is remarkable, and this important recognition is very well-deserved. We are proud of her accomplishments.”

Dr. Alvarez is the fifth MDC professor to receive this top recognition. Alberto Meza, professor emeritus of fine arts at Kendall Campus, won in 2003; Dr. Ana Cruz, Wolfson Campus chair of the School of Business, was selected in 2005; Dr. Sandra Schultz, professor emeritus of biology, health and wellness at North Campus, received the award in 2009, and Elizabeth Nicoli-Suco, professor of mathematics at Wolfson Campus, was selected in 2010. This record is unmatched in the state of Florida.

Established in 1981 by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation, the U.S. Professors of the Year program recognizes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country — those who excel in teaching and positively influence the lives and careers of students.

Additional support for the program is received from Phi Beta Kappa, which sponsors an evening congressional reception, the Professional and Organizational Development (POD) Network in Higher Education and other higher education associations.

This year, a state Professor of the Year was recognized in 31 states. CASE assembled two preliminary panels of judges to select finalists. The Carnegie Foundation then convened the third and final panel, which selected four national winners. CASE and Carnegie select state winners from top entries resulting from the judging process.

Dr. Alvarez was selected from faculty members nominated by colleges and universities throughout the country.

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching is an independent policy and research center that supports needed transformations in American education through tighter connections between teaching practice, evidence of student learning, the communication and use of this evidence, and structured opportunities to build knowledge.

Headquartered in Washington, DC, with offices in London, Singapore and Mexico City, the Council for Advancement and Support of Education is a professional association serving educational institutions and the advancement professionals at all levels who work in alumni relations, communications, fundraising, marketing and other areas.
To learn more, visit

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "MDC’s Rosany Alvarez named Florida Professor of the Year"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.