Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Barry University Distinguished Alumni Awards

November 16, 2013 @ 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Barry University will honor outstanding alumni for their achievements and contributions to society on Saturday, Nov. 16 when the Office of Alumni Relations hosts its annual Distinguished Alumni Awards. The evening begins at 6 p.m. with a Chef’s Challenge cocktail reception followed by a three-course dinner and award ceremony at 7 p.m. at the Hilton Miami Airport, 5101 Blue Lagoon Drive.

The Honorable Alex Ferrer, host and arbiter of “Judge Alex,” the nationally syndicated courtroom television show, is one of four alumni receiving the Distinguished Alumni Award this year alongside Erbi Blanco-True, Senior Vice President and Director of Community Development of Great Florida Bank; Lourdes Cowgill, President Emerita of Pine Crest School; and Dr. Michael D. Vaardahl, owner and podiatrist of the Foot & Ankle Center of Northern Colorado.

This year, LaCriscia Fowlkes, Program Director at PACE Center for Girls in Miami, alongside The Honorable Adam McGinnis, Orange County Judge for the Ninth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida, will receive the 2013 Rising Star Award for recent alums who exemplify the intent and purpose of Barry’s mission.

For more information, or to purchase tickets, contact alumni@barry.edu or call 1-877-899-ALUM or visit http://www.barry.edu/alumni/events/daa.html


Barry University is a private, Catholic institution with a history of academic excellence in the Adrian Dominican tradition. Founded in 1940 in Miami, Florida, the University enrolls nearly 9,000 students and offers more than 100 undergraduate and graduate degree programs through its nine academic schools and colleges, including Adult & Continuing Education, Business, Education, Human Performance & Leisure Science, Law, Podiatric Medicine, Social Work, Arts & Sciences, and Health Sciences.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly


November 16, 2013
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm