Four candidates in race for School Board District 7 seat

With current member Lubby Navarro serving a two-year appointed term, the Miami-Dade School Board District 7 seat already has attracted three additional candidates seeking election to a four-year term beginning in 2016.

Navarro was appointed by Florida Gov. Rick Scott to fill the unexpired term of Carlos Curbelo, who vacated the seat in his successful 2014 run for the U.S. House of Representatives in District 26.

Officially sworn into office on Feb. 15, Navarro already is active in a campaign for reelection as the incumbent office-holder, listing a campaign fund of $34,600 on Sept. 15.

Well-known Kendall school teacher and administrator Aster Mohamed was the latest to throw her hat in the ring in her first bid for public office. She has planned a rally of supporters at Mike’s Pizza, 13712 SW84 St., from 6-8 p.m., on Tuesday, Oct. 27, with complimentary refreshments.

Filing for District 7 in addition to Navarro and Mohamed are Carolina Elena Blanco and George Armando Fernandez. Blanco, named Teacher of the Year in 2012, was one of eight who sought the appointment to Curbelo’s seat.

Neither former school board member Renier Diaz de la Portillo nor former County Commissioner Lynda Bell have filed as candidates as of Sept. 25; both also sought appointment to Curbelo’s unfinished District 7 term.

Four other school board seats up for election in 2016 include spots now held by incumbents Dr. Wilbert “Tee” Holloway, District 1; Martin Karp, District 3; Susie V. Castillo, District 5, and Dr. Lawrence S. Feldman, District 9.

The first primary election is set for Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016 with runoffs, if required, on the general election ballot, Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016. Candidates have until noon, Friday, June 24, 2016, to file with terms for those school board members elected beginning Nov. 22, 2016.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Four candidates in race for School Board District 7 seat"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.