Nine MDC students selected for 2015 All-Florida Academic Team

Nine students from Miami Dade College (MDC) were chosen by the Florida College System for the 2015 All- Florida Academic Team. They are among the 124 students who will be recognized at an awards ceremony Apr. 9 at the Donald L. Tucker Civic Center in Tallahassee and one of the largest contingents among Florida’s state colleges.

The All-Florida Academic Team recognizes outstanding students for academic achievement, leadership and service to the community. The students were nominated by their respective colleges to the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by USA Today and the Phi

Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society. In addition, PTK also distinguishes the top 30 students of each class by selecting them to the All-Florida First Team based on ratings in competition throughout the state.

The MDC students chosen for the 2015 All-Florida Academic Team are: Nerea Alvarez, Nathalie Bazile, Jessenia Cabrera, Jonathan Gallego, Brigitte Madan, Ivan Montoya, Zeinab Noureddine, Betsy Trujillo and Gerry Victor.

“I’m pleased to recognize this group of outstanding scholars for excelling in their studies while providing leadership and service to their schools and communities,” said Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart. “Our colleges have done an excellent job preparing these students for success now and in the future. I’m confident these are among the next generation of leaders in the Sunshine State.”

In nominating students for the All- Florida Academic Team, colleges considered the following criteria:
• Participation in honors programs; • Membership and awards from academic or honors organizations;
• Awards and honors received for academic and leadership accomplishments;
• Academic enrichment achieved through study, internships and cultural experiences, and
• Sharing of academic attainments, knowledge and skills through community service.

In conjunction with PTK, the Coca- Cola Scholars Foundation annually sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team to recognize highachieving college students who demonstrate academic excellence combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom. Coca-Cola also distinguishes one student from each state who possesses the highest application score in his or her class and awards them with a scholarship as a New Century Scholar.

The 2015 All-Florida First Team, Coca-Cola Scholarship recipients and the New Century Scholar will be announced during Florida College System Month in April. For more information about the All- Florida Academic Team, visit the All- Florida Academic Team website at

For more information about the Florida College System, visit <> or send email to communications director Joe Follick at

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Nine MDC students selected for 2015 All-Florida Academic Team"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.