Elle Macpherson honorary chair of Power of the Purse luncheon

Elle Macpherson honorary chair of Power of the Purse luncheon

Elle Macpherson

She may have graced the pages of every major magazine but entrepreneur and fashion icon Elle Macpherson also is known for her charitable work.

Elle, this year’s honorary event chair, will join more than 900 of South Florida’s leaders, philanthropists, celebrities and government officials on Apr. 7 to celebrate the power of women and girls to create change in our community.

The Women’s Fund Miami-Dade’s will hold its signature Power of the Purse Luncheon and Auction in the BankUnited Center at the University of Miami. Emmy Award-winning journalist and Univision anchor Teresa Rodriguez will be this year’s emcee.

Guests are invited to shop for a cause where they have the unique opportunity to purchase new and vintage designer bags, jewelry, wines and other amazing items while sipping cocktails and enjoying a delicious lunch which includes an emotional and inspiring program highlighting transformational stories of the women and girls served in Miami-Dade County.

The luncheon, co-chaired by Mary Young and Sissy DeMaria, and auction chair Cyndi Hibnick, will honor Hilarie Bass, co-president and litigation attorney with Greenberg Traurig, with the Second Annual Marilyn Gladstone Lifetime Achievement Award.

“On behalf of The Women’s Fund and my co-chair Sissy DeMaria, we are delighted to welcome back Elle Macpherson as our gracious honorary event chair, and are privileged to recognize Hilarie Bass with our highest accolade, the Marilynn Gladstone Lifetime Achievement Award” Mary Young said. “Hilarie’s commitment to giving back to her community is reflected in all she does, professionally and personally.

This special award affords us the opportunity to share our appreciation for the difference she has made. To also have it go to a founding board member of The Women’s Fund makes it all the more significant.”

In addition to the Lifetime Achievement category, annually The Women’s Fund inducts new members to its Honor Roll. This year’s Honor Roll inductees will be Lucia Davis-Raiford, Natacha Munilla and Darlene Perez.

Lucia Davis-Raiford leads the Miami-Dade Community Action and Human Services Department and has long been an advocate on issues affecting women and girls, particularly in the area of domestic violence and has been internationally recognized for her efforts. She also devotes herself to the development of philanthropy and volunteerism in the African-American community and has been a long-time supporter of The Women’s Fund.

Native to Miami, Natacha Munilla is vice president of Thunder Electrical Contractors Inc. and a long-time volunteer in the Miami-Dade County community having been involved in many non-profit boards as part of her commitment to our community, focusing a great deal of her attention to supporting organizations working with foster children and runaway teenagers who are in need of alternative housing and services.

Darlene Boytell-Pérez is an advanced registered nurse practitioner and clinical researcher with more than 20 years of experience specializing in gastroenterology and liver disease. An alumna of FIU’s School of Nursing, she serves on the FIU President’s Council and the School of Nursing Dean’s Committee. She also serves on the boards of United Way of Miami-Dade and United Cerebral Palsy. Along with her husband, she is involved with the Pérez Art Museum of Miami.

“The women selected as members of the Honor Roll have been instrumental in developing the mission and supporting the success of The Women’s Fund,” DeMaria said. “We are proud to honor these women who stand for a community where all women and girls have equal access and opportunity.”

Individual tickets are $150 and VIP tickets are $200. To purchase tickets, visit www.tinyurl.com/wfmdpop16. To buy a table or sponsor the Power of the Purse event, call 305-441-0506.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Elle Macpherson honorary chair of Power of the Purse luncheon"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.