Chamber South announces winners of annual Legislative Essay Contest

The Chamber South Education and Business Coalition has announced the winners of the 16th Annual Legislative Essay Contest.

This year’s winners are Gonzalo Crivelli of the School for Advanced Studies at Miami Dade College (Kendall Campus) and Kathryn Lopez of Miami Killian High School. They will receive a VIP trip to Tallahassee to experience the state of Florida’s legislative process first hand. The Education and Business Coalition sponsors this contest each year in an effort to help develop writing skills and instill in our future leaders an understanding of how individuals can make a difference.

The two winning students from the School for Advanced Studies at Miami Dade College and Miami Killian Senior High and their parent chaperones will be attending a VIP trip to Tallahassee on Apr. 3 and 4. They will attend meetings with local legislators during Dade Days, tour the Old and New Capitol and the Supreme Court, and network with local officials and business professionals. For more than a decade, the essay contest winners and their parents have described the trip as a once-ina- lifetime experience that provides an eyewitness view of state government.

The two winners wrote a 500-word essay that answered one of two questions:

1. Should elected officials be held to a higher moral standard than you and I;

2. There appears to be apathy among youth today as to political involvement. If given the opportunity, what would you do to change it?

You can read the two winning essays on Chamber South’s website at <>.

This year’s contest was sponsored by Chamber South, with support from Florida State Sen. Anitere Flores, and an MDRT Foundation grant courtesy of Donald Marx, who has contributed through the years to Chamber South and the Education and Business Coalition.

For more information, call the Chamber South offices at 305-661-1621.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Chamber South announces winners of annual Legislative Essay Contest"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.