23rd Annual In the Company of Women Awards Celebration Recognizes 12 Miami-Dade Women

In celebration of Women’s History Month, the Miami-Dade Park and Recreation Department (MDPR) and the Miami-Dade County Commission for Women are hosting the 23rd Annual In the Company of Women Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 31, from 6-9 p.m., at the Biltmore Hotel, 1200 Anastasia Ave., Coral Gables. The event includes a cocktail-reception and an awards-presentation recognizing 12 local women for their long-standing contributions to the residents of Miami-Dade County.

WPLG Channel 10 reporter Neki Mohan will emcee the festivities. As part of the program, the Mayor’s Pioneer Award will be awarded to a woman who has proven leadership, creativity, and vision in addressing community issues in Miami-Dade County within the past 10 years.

The honorees include: Arts & Entertainment–Eveline Pierre, Founder of the Haitian Heritage Museum; Business & Economics–Patricia Thorp, Senior Counselor, RBB Public Relations; Communications & Literature–Michele Gillen, Chief Investigative Reporter, CBS Miami; Education & Research–Dr. Stacey Mancuso, Principle, DASH; Government & Law–Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz; Health & Human Services–Lucy Morillo-Agnetti, President & CEO, Miami Children’s Hospital Foundation; Science & Technology–Sherry Thompson Giordano, Executive Director, IT Women, and June Randall, Chief, Administration & Technology Division, Miami-Dade County Police; Sports & Athletics–Marta Montenegro, Founder, Publisher & Editor-In-Chief, SoBeFit Magazine; Mayor’s Pioneer Award–Elaine Bloom, former member of the Florida House of Representatives; Community Spirit Award–Donna Ginn, Founder & Managing Partner, Crossroad Consulting Group; and posthumous honors–Amanda Haworth, Detective, Miami-Dade Police Warrants Bureau.

Nominations were solicited from the general public from October through December 2010. Nominees must have a history of continued accomplishments in their field and have met these five criteria: professional development, community responsibility, leadership and vision, contribution to women’s progress and promotion of pluralism. Award recipients were selected by a panel, comprised of some of last year’s winners and the event’s organizing committee.

Tickets for In the Company of Women $40 and can be purchased by calling Ticketmaster at 305-358-5885, or visiting their web site: www.ticketmaster.com; or at Miami-Dade County Auditorium, 2901 West Flagler Street.

For more information about the event, call Lisa Fernandez at the Women’s Park, 305-480-1717.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

About the Author

Community Press Releases
This story was brought to you by a member of the community. If you have any questions about the article or its contents feel free to contact the author. You too can submit a story here

Be the first to comment on "23rd Annual In the Company of Women Awards Celebration Recognizes 12 Miami-Dade Women"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.