University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame unveils Class of 2014

Current Houston Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson and Hurricanes football greats Clinton Portis and Lamar Thomas headline the UM Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014. All eight members were formally introduced at halftime of Miami’s home finale Nov. 23 versus Virginia.

The Class of 2014 includes Johnson (football, 2000-02), James Jones (basketball, 1999-2003), Jeff Morrison (baseball, 1978- 81), Wyllesheia Myrick (track, 1998-2002), Portis (football, 1999-2001), Rio Ramirez (diving, 1997-99), Javy Rodriguez (baseball, 1999-2002) and Thomas (football, 1988-92).

The University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame was founded in 1966 by eight Dade County Circuit Court judges who wanted to establish an organization that would recognize those student-athletes, coaches and administrators who excelled at their sport and brought acclaim to the University of Miami through achievements and championships.

With the addition of the eight newest members, the Sports Hall of Fame will increase to 282 honorees. The eight-member class will be inducted at the 46th annual UMSHoF Induction Banquet, which will take place on Apr. 10, 2014. For more information on the banquet, fans can visit <> or call 305-284-2775.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame unveils Class of 2014"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.