Macy’s/Florida Department of Education to Name State Top Educator at Teacher of the Year Award Gala on July 9, 2015


Hundreds of Florida teachers and school administrators as well as Florida Department of Education leadership will gather to learn which of the five finalists chosen from more than 191,000 public school teachers throughout the state will be named the 2016 Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year. 

Deborah Norville, Emmy Award-winning journalist and anchor of Inside Edition, will serve as master of ceremonies.  Darlene Hanes, Macy’s Executive vice President, Regional Director of Stores and Florida Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart will open the sealed envelope to reveal the name of this year’s top educator in Florida.

The five teacher finalists are:

·         Elementary Education teacher Ashlynn Ramirez from Hernando Elementary School in Citrus County

·         7th Grade Civics and Social Science teacher Brian Furgione from Milwee Middle School in Seminole County

·         6th and 7th grade Language Arts teacher Catherine Beaudoin from W.C. Pryor Middle School in Okaloosa County

·         Kindergarten teacher Ceola Graham from Madison County Central School in Madison County

·         8th grade Language Arts teacher Diane McKee from Williams Middle Magnet School in Hillsborough County

The 2016 Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year winner will be announced at the gala event. The Macy’s/Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year is chosen from more than 190,000 public school teachers throughout the state by a Department of Education-appointed selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community. The top educator is selected on the basis of superior ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching, and outstanding school and community service. The most important qualification is the teacher’s exceptional capacity to inspire love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.

Macy’s has created a very special way to recognize Florida’s top educators that provides them with tangible rewards and memories to last a lifetime. Each District Teacher of the Year receives a cash award of $750 and $250 for their respective schools, funded by the Macy’s Foundation. Also this year, Macy’s will surprise three District Teachers of the Year with a $1,000 Macy’s gift card and these special awards: the Magic of Leadership award for a teacher who leads by example, the Magic of Teaching award for a teacher who goes beyond the basic job description to continue positive growth in her students, and the Magic of Giving award to a teacher with a unique ability to create positive change in the community.

The five finalists for Teacher of the Year each receive an award of $5,000 and a $1,000 grant for their schools, funded by the Macy’s Foundation, and a $500 Macy’s gift card. The Teacher of the Year, selected from the five finalists, receives a total of $10,000 and an all-expense paid trip to New York City for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. To date, Macy’s and the Macy’s Foundation have contributed almost $3 million to teachers throughout the state.

Following the conclusion of the school year, the winning teacher is given a one-year leave from the classroom to serve as the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education.  He or she tours the state on behalf of Macy’s, the Department of Education and all the state’s teachers to spread the word about educational opportunities and challenges in the Sunshine State — present and future.

WHEN:             Thursday, July 9, 2015, 6:30 PM (EST)

WHERE:           Hard Rock Live at Universal Studios Orlando, 6050 Universal Boulevard, Orlando FL 32819

LIVE INTERNET STREAM LINK:   YOU TUBE  Select and click 2016 Florida Teacher of the Year          

Live Stream begins July 9th at 6:25PM EDT through the completion of the Awards Ceremony approximately 8:30-9PM.

6:25PM             Live stream opens

6:30PM             Awards ceremony begins

8PM                 (Approximately) Winning teacher announced


About Macy’s

Macy’s, the largest retail brand of Macy’s, Inc. (NYSE:M), delivers fashion and affordable luxury to customers at approximately 775 locations in 45 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam, as well as to customers in the U.S. and more than 100 international destinations through its leading online store at Via its stores, e-commerce site, mobile and social platforms, Macy’s offers distinctive assortments including the most desired family of exclusive and fashion brands for him, her and home. Macy’s is known for such epic events as Macy’s 4th of July Fireworks® and the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade®, as well as spectacular fashion shows, culinary events, flower shows and celebrity appearances. Macy’s flagship stores including Herald Square in New York City, Union Square in San Francisco, State Street in Chicago, Dadeland in Miami and South Coast Plaza in southern California are known internationally and leading destinations for visitors. Building on a more than 150-year tradition, and with the collective support of customers and employees, Macy’s helps strengthen communities by supporting local and national charities giving more than $69 million each year to help make a difference in the lives of our customers.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Macy’s/Florida Department of Education to Name State Top Educator at Teacher of the Year Award Gala on July 9, 2015"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.