Police personnel awarded special recognition award for their bravery

Police personnel awarded special recognition award for their bravery

Pictured (l-r) Front row: Deputy Chief Jason Cohen, Motor Officer Julian Guerra, Sergeant Michael Willin. Back row: Sergeant Michael Gorsline, Sergeant Charles Dewhurst, Major Derrick Bowman.

The Special Recognition Award was presented for the first time by the current police chief in recognition of bravery during Hurricane Irma.

When the Hurricane Irma was at its worst, six dedicated police officers were at their best. For the first time during the police chief’s tenure, he presented the Special Recognition Award.

“This is the highest honor I can bestow on a police officer,” said Pinecrest Police Chief Samuel Ceballos, Jr. “Each one of them deserves this special recognition because of his willingness to honor a call of duty few dare to accept, and for the risk each was willing to bear to ensure the safety of Pinecrest residents.”

As Hurricane Irma’s winds whipped through Pinecrest, the police department received a report of a fire. The deputy chief, police major, three sergeants and a motor officer rushed to the scene knowing that the Miami-Dade Fire Rescue Department had suspended operations due to the severe weather conditions. Pinecrest Police had also suspended routine operations.

The officers encountered downed trees, debris, and 68 mph wind gusts while in route to the residence. When they arrived, a generator surrounded by a wooden structure was on fire. The officers extinguished the fire, preventing it from spreading to the home.

Congratulations to Deputy Chief Jason Cohen, Major Derrick Bowman, Sergeants Michael Gorsline, Michael Willin, and Charles Dewhurst and Motor Officer Julian Guerra.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Be the first to comment on "Police personnel awarded special recognition award for their bravery"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.