Villagers award 2014 scholarships to FIU, UM students

Villagers award 2014 scholarships to FIU, UM students

Pictured (l-r) is Villagers scholarship selection committee member Joan Bounds with scholarship recipients Eileen Koos and Sarah Malebranche from FIU, and Norman Alexander from the University of Miami, and Toni Garcia, also on the selection committee.

The Villagers recently awarded $28,000 in college scholarships to deserving architecture students with an interest in historic preservation and restoration.

Nine students were selected from the field of applicants based on scholastic standing, recommendations, samples of their work and statement of interest in preserving our architectural past.

Recipients from the University of Miami included Norman Alexander, the winner of this year’s Joyce Pippo Scholarship for $5,000. Lauren O’Halloran and Adolfo Gonzalez were also selected. All are studying architecture.

Florida International University recipients were architecture students Eileen Nunes Koo and Sarah Malebranche. Salvatore Cumella was selected from the University of Florida’s architecture program.

A portion of the scholarship funds are designated for deserving students graduating from DASH, Miami-Dade County’s magnet school for architecture and design. The winners will designate the university of their choice for the scholarship. Selected graduating seniors included Kevin Savillon of Miami, Luciana Ruiz of Kendall and Lindsey Moder of Palmetto Bay.

Founded in 1966, The Villagers is an allvolunteer, not-profit organization dedicated to the preservation and restoration of historic sites in Miami-Dade County.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here

Print Friendly

Be the first to comment on "Villagers award 2014 scholarships to FIU, UM students"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.