United Homecare announces 2021 Claude Pepper Award honorees

United HomeCare (UHC), a non-profit 501(c)(3) charitable organization dedicated to serving older and disabled adults at home, announced the 2021 Claude Pepper Award Honorees during its Virtual Prelude event on Dec. 10, 2020, with the generous sponsorship support of Florida Power & Light/Next Era Energy.

The honorees will receive their Claude Pepper Award live during United HomeCare’s 26th annual Dinner and Claude Pepper Awards on Thursday, May 20, at Jungle Island’s Treetop Ballroom. In keeping with social distancing guidelines, the event will feature a cocktail reception/silent auction starting at 5:45 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m.

All sponsorships and charitable donations benefit the mission of United HomeCare. To become an event sponsor or purchase tickets, call 305-716-0764 or 305-716-0736 or visit www.unitedhomecare.com.

The late Sen. Claude Denson Pepper was a beloved public servant who tirelessly championed causes on behalf of the elderly, disabled and the poor. He successfully advocated for the passage of the Older Americans Act of 1965.

“This signature legislation, helping Older Americans to age with dignity in the comfort of their home with the care and support services they need, has proven to be most important in 2020, especially during the pandemic,” saidCarlos Martinez, president and CEO of United HomeCare. “It is still true today that to have quality of life in our later years of life, often requires a helping hand, frequently more than family members can provide physically or financially.”

For the past 25 years, United HomeCare has celebrated Claude Pepper’s legacy by recognizing individuals and corporations who have demonstrated leadership and compassion for the elderly and disabled; have inspired others through their actions and are committed to making South Florida a better place for all.

2021 Claude Pepper Award Honorees:
Thelma Gibson Community Service Award, Carlos R. Fernandez-Guzman, president and CEO, Pacific National Bank (PNB);

Education Award, Dr. Ranjan Duara, MD, medical director, Wien Center for Alzheimer’s Disease and Memory Disorders at Mount Sinai Medical Center;

Hispanic Leadership Award, Liliam M. Lopez, president and CEO, South Florida Hispanic Chamber of Commerce;

Corporate Social Responsibility, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Miami ALL IN MIAMI #41;

Innovator Award, Pascal J. Goldschmidt-Clermont MD, CMO, Lennar Corporation President, American Healthcare System Ltd., founder CEO, UHealth Dean Emeritus, UM Miller School of Medicine;

Corporate Service, Jesús Quintero, founder and CEO, JQ Group of Companies;

Media Award, Gary Press, chair Lifestyle Media Group;

Entrepreneur Award, Irina Vilarino, owner Las Vegas Cuban Cuisine Restaurant;

Advocacy Award, Placing Seniors’ First Monument Crime Prevention Alliance of South Florida, Barbara E. Sanchez, president;

Philanthropy Award, Remedios Diaz-Oliver, president and CEO, All American Land;

Community Builder Award, Michael Finney, president and CEO Miami-Dade Beacon Council.

Connect To Your Customers & Grow Your Business

Click Here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here